• Home
  • About
  • News
  • Issues
  • Events
  • Donate
  • Member Resources
Representative Angie King (R-Celina)
Representative Derek Merrin (R-Monclova Twp.)
Representative Tavia Galonski (D-Akron)
Representative Josh Williams (R-Sylvania Twp.)
Representative Phil Plummer (R-Dayton)
Representative Steve Demetriou (R-Bainbridge Twp.)
Representative Nick Santucci (R-Howland Twp.)

2019 OJC Legislative Reception


OJC held our annual Legislative Reception on May 22, hosted by Benesch at their stunning offices directly across from the Statehouse.  

This was one of the largest such receptions we’ve had in recent years.  In paying tribute to four outstanding legislators who have stood with our community on critical issues – Senate President Larry Obhof, Assistant Minority Leader Senator Cecil Thomas, House Speaker Pro Tem Jim Butler, and Minority Leader Emilia Sykes - we were joined by community members from every region of the state.  

Also attending were statewide public officials, including Attorney General Dave Yost; Auditor Keith Faber; Bill Beagle, a senior staff member for Treasurer Robert Sprague; state legislators, including Senate President Larry Obhof, Majority Floor Leader Matt Huffman, Minority Leader Kenny Yuko, Assistant Minority Leader Cecil Thomas, House Speaker Pro Tem Jim Butler, Assistant Majority Whip Laura Lanese, Minority Leader Emilia Sykes, Assistant Minority Leader Kristin Boggs, Minority Whip Kent Smith, Finance Committee Chairman Scott Oelslager, and staff from federal and state offices from clear across Ohio, including representatives of both our US Senators, Sherrod Brown and Rob Portman.

Thank You to Our Generous Patrons:

Benesch Attorneys at Law

Robert Friedman | The Bert & Elizabeth Wolinsky Benevolent Trust

Judith and Merom Brachman

Ira Nuts | Nutis Visual Communications Group


Jeanie and Jay Schottenstein

David and Becky Heller

James Pazol | The Schermer Charitable Trust


Lee and Bonnie Deutsch Burdman

Bill Byers | Byers, Minton & Associates

Gordon Hecker

The Jewish Foundation of Cincinnati-In honor of Senate Assistant Minority Leader Cecil Thomas

The Negev Foundation—Ohio-Israel Agricultural & CleanTech Initiative


John & Abbie Youkilis

Dick Weiland

Pennie and Stephen Weinberg

Jewish Community Board of Akron-In honor of House Minority Leader Emilia Sykes

Jewish Community Relations Council of the Jewish Federation of Cincinnati-In honor of Senate Assistant Minority Leader Cecil Thomas

The Mt. Sinai Health Care Foundation, Cleveland



Amy and Ira Kaplan

Steven Miller

Marcia and Peter Silverman

Jewish Federation of Greater Dayton-In honor of Speaker Pro Tempore Jim Butler

Martin H. Belsky

Andy and Michele Bernstein

Beth Wain Brandon

Gigi and Sam Fried

Greg and Bryna Miller

Kohrman Jackson & Krantz


Tom Lockshin, Executive Director, Israel Bonds, Ohio & Kentucky | Kathe Turiel, Registered Representative, Israel Bonds, Central & Southern Ohio & Kentucky

Photos courtesy of Adam Reiss, Spyroll Studios